Daily Archives: September 3, 2012

La Familia y La Comida

Kristin, in our room for the semester!

Last Thursday night I found out my home-stay family for the semester! I’m very happy to be rooming with Kristin, one of my good friends from Penn. We are sharing a home-stay with our señora, Cristina. Her sons Juan and Ignacio also live in the house; they’re both about 35 or 40 years old, but it’s more common for older children to live with their parents in Spain. Cristina has 5 children, but only Juan and Ignacio live there all of the time. Her only daughter, who’s name is also Cristina, lives here part of the time but has been on vacation for the past month and also has her own apartment a couple blocks away (it’s very common for los sevillanos to have long vacations like this during the summer!). I was a bit nervous to move in with my family last Friday after the comforts of Hotel Béquer, but all of the family is very nice and I think I’ll really enjoy living here during the semester. Our casa is in a neighborhood called los Remedios, which is only a 5 minute walk across the Guadalquivir River from our program center and less than a 10 minute walk to la Universidad de Sevilla. We also eat all of our meals at home, which will help me to save money for trips! (more info on excursions in a future post)  Continue reading

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Spain