P is for….

This week, ‘P’ is for Paris, Puente, and Peluquería:

PARIS

On the 2nd platform of the Eiffel Tower

On the 2nd platform of the Eiffel Tower

Last weekend, I traveled with Kristin & Joe to Paris! Upon landing we quickly learned that we know very little French, perhaps aside from Parlez-vous anglais? and my limited French number knowledge of “une, deux, trois.” I’ll be forever grateful to my friend Sam for letting us stay in her apartment near the Eiffel Tower and for showing us a great time!

So where did we go? Better question: where did we NOT go? We visited the Louvre, climbed to the second platform of the Eiffel Tower, watched the sunset from the Basilica of the Sacré Cœur in Montmartre, passed through the Jewish quarter for some excellent falafel, and more! The Parisian food was definitely a highlight of the weekend, including multiple crepes, a fancy lunch at Le Petit Vatel, numerous types of cheeses (camembert, brie, emmental, …), french onion soup, and escargot. Check out more highlights/photos from the trip HERE.

EL PUENTE

SAM_4076

Americano desayuno at VIPS. Yum!

Happy belated Dia de la Constitución! Yesterday was a national dia de fiesta here in Spain, so I happily enjoyed the day off from class. Also, I don’t have class on Fridays anyway, meaning that it’s a 4 day weekend for me! I’ll mix in a few study breaks, like the American-style desayuno I had at VIPS this morning (complete with pancakes, eggs, bacon, home fries, and a chocolate milkshake!), but other than that I am treating the puente (bridge) like “reading days” at Penn. Everyone refers to this 4 day weekend as a puente because since the Friday is sandwiched between two national holidays, el Día de la Constitución on Thursday and el Día de la Inmaculada Concepción on Saturday, many professors will simply cancel Friday classes, thus creating the “bridge.” I surely don’t mind!

LA PELUQUERÍA

First Spanish haircut didn't turn out too bad!

First Spanish haircut didn’t turn out too bad!

I also took advantage of the puente today with a visit to my first Spanish peluquería (hair salon). I am happy to say that I not only survived the experience but actually like my haircut! Although I didn’t chat nearly as much with my hairdresser, the experience was pretty similar to that in an American salon. One major difference, however, was that I was able to walk in without an appointment and sit in the chair within five minutes. That NEVER happens in the U.S. Even when I already have an appointment, I always have to wait. However, given that even from my own street corner here I can see at least 4 hair salons in sight, there’s not really a lack of places to get a haircut in Sevilla!

And to end with some musical enjoyment…

To conlcude within the ‘P’ theme, here’s another Spanish discoteca hit, “Te Pintaron Pajaritos”:

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Spain, Trips

Comments?